“Do you want to be an teacher?”: Being an English major

Thinking back to a discussion we had in class sometime back, I have always wondered what does it really mean when I tell people I am majoring in English. “What do you want to do with an English degree? Do you want to be a teacher/professor? Why didn’t you major in something that would get you a job after college?” I have heard it all. But, are there really “real majors” and “fake majors?” I believe that all depends on the person.

I started off as a Psych major; I want to say I enjoyed the major but that would be a lie. However, I knew that if I majored in Psychology, I would be able to get a good job and, possibly, make a lot of money. Fortunately, sooner rather than later, I realized Psychology wasn’t the right major for me. So, I switched into a major I would have never thought I would choose: English! I know, I know. What was I thinking? Well, I thought a lot about my decision, as does every college student who chooses the major that best fits them.

There is no such thing as “real majors” or “fake majors,” according to what most people would assume. What you put into the major is what you get out of it. Some students would major in one thing, and enter into a job field completely different than their training. Like I said before, I think it all depends on the person. Plus, most majors are versatile, meaning you don’t have to enter into the assumed career field.

The biggest takeaway from our class discussion was that everyone has the ability to choose what they want to major in. Its your choice, no matter the unwarranted questions or backlash!

 

Leave a Reply

