Real vs Fake Majors

Today in class, we had a discussion about the ideas of “real” and “fake” majors. This is a topic that has always interested me greatly, as I have heard this argument many times before. Personally, I have even heard that my major is one of these “fake” majors. Being a communication major, I am constantly asked what my major even is or what one would do with such a major. I have even been told that my major is easier than some of the others offered at our school, which is one of my biggest pet peeves. Just because my major may appear to be less work to outside people, does not mean that it is. Students from other majors will never understand what exactly goes into each major. I believe that every single major is a real one, and the idea of fake majors is completely made up. Each major has a purpose and its own requirements, and with the same amount of credits needed to graduate. This in itself makes all majors equal and none should be considered superior to another one. Each person has their own way of thinking and learning, which is why they chose the major that they do. With this choice, students should not have to hear their majors discredited or put down, with terms such as “fake majors.”

Leave a Reply

