Real vs. Fake Majors

I really enjoyed the discussion over whether or not a major is real or not. Even though, I don’t think I have ever necessarily heard it referred to as “real” or “fake”; I have definitely heard people refer to them as “hard” and “easy” majors. Regardless, I know a lot of people in other majors, especially my science major friends, who assume that my English major is easy because I typically don’t have any exams but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a ton of reading and a lot of papers to write. According to Dictionary.com, the proper definition of a major in relation to education is “a subject or field of study chosen by a student to represent his or her principal interest and upon which a large share of his or her efforts are concentrated.” With this said, in my personal opinion, a major is what you make of it. I think if you value the subject or field of study because it is something you are interested in and something you would like to someday, in some capacity, do as a career than no one can take that away from you. I think it is actually those people who are just in certain majors because they are the highest paying jobs, for example, and not because it is something they are passionate or interested in are the ones who are in fake majors because they are kidding themselves if they think that is going to make them happy. Sure, maybe some majors quite possibly look more glorified than others on the surface but at the end of the day, they are still earning a degree and a leg up in the world and that’s all that matters.

3 thoughts on “Real vs. Fake Majors

  1. As someone who has more than once been accused of studying a “fake” major, I really enjoyed reading your post. I especially liked your final thought of “a degree being a degree.” I completely agree with this statement. I think that college students get too hung up on picking a major. The truth of the matter is that if you are not studying something very specific for a particular career in which no other degree would suffice (ex. nursing, etc.), than it really does not make much of a difference.

  2. Hilary, I completely agree with your points in this post and have even made some similar comments in my own post about this topic. I too, have heard people put down my major as not being as hard as others, which I think is completely unfair. I like how you brought in the definition of a major, cause that in itself shows that there can not be a “fake” major. I believe that one should chose their major off of what they are passionate in, and not what will make them the most money. Money will only get you so far in life if you are not happy with what you are doing. When you are choosing your major for the right reasons, it will hopefully lead to you living a happy life within the field of your choice.

  3. I completely agree with your post! A major is only what you make of it, and no one is guaranteed a job because of what they study. A fashion major can be just as successful as an accounting major if they put the time and effort in. I understand why people choose majors that typically lead to high paying jobs, but it needs to be a compromise. People also need to consider what their passions are (besides money) when choosing a field of study. A major should not be seen as better based on the number of exams or amount of math involved. All majors can lead to fruitful careers and should not be defined as real or fake.

Leave a Reply

