“Real” vs. “Fake” Majors

In class, we had a great discussion about whether or not there is such a thing as “real” or “fake” majors. Throughout my college career, I’ve struggled to pick a major that best suits me. I’ve considered them all- from education to business to psychology just to name a few. During my sophomore year, I declared a Human Services major. This was a very difficult decision for me, as I am constantly debating what is more important to me: fiscal stability or happiness. Currently, I am still unsure of what career path I would like to pursue but I have come to terms with the fact that my career might not be one of high income. I am constantly told by peers and adults that my major is easier than others; which frustrates me. Every major in some way or another is intended to challenge students in their area of interest. My roommate is a nursing major and constantly undermines my major. I am fully aware of the fact that I most likely would not excel in science-based courses. However, I truly feel as though some students, such as my roommate, would struggle in my human services classes because they challenge me in a different way than a science or math-based class would. If a major is offered at a university, it means that there are many students and faculty who are interested in the course load and find it beneficial to learn and teach the material. Choosing a major or an area of study is supposed to assist someone in their future career. Therefore, whether the classes are considered “easy” or “hard,” all majors should most definitely be considered “real.”

Leave a Reply

