Is Google Making Us Stupid?

Is Google making us stupid? Answer: Yes

Our generation is all about go, go, go. No time to wait for the answers we need. No time to find the page in a book. No time to wait for the webpage to load. Our lives are completely surrounded by technology — iPad’s, Smart Phones, and computers. And I will be the first person to say that when I need an answer, I go straight to Google. Whenever someone asks me a question, I quickly and robotically respond with, “ask Google.” Google has quickly become the hub for all one needs to know and it is the center of all of our worlds.

Nicholas Car writes all about technology and culture. Carr says that we sacrifice so much when we lean on technology and Google for the answers. And he is correct. We lose the concept of research, of reading to find an answer, of being engrossed in a topic and diving into bottomless knowledge. Before Internet and before Google or Wikipedia, if you needed answers, you went to the library. The library was the center of knowledge. Now, I am not sure if our generation knows how to use a library.

Yes, this is the way the world is now. And yes, times change. But how much change will we accept before we lose the sense of reading and searching for answers? We all need to take a step back and think about the way we gain answers to our questions.

3 thoughts on “Is Google Making Us Stupid?

  1. I absolutely loved reading this because I couldn’t agree with you more and I actually made similar notions in my own blog post. I especially enjoyed reading your last paragraph about “[losing] the sense of reading.” In this day and age, students of all ages are far less likely to read a book, whether it be for research or for pleasure. They just can’t concentrate long enough to sit down and engross them in a book or even a movie and why would they when all they have to do is spark notes or look in Google the highlights. As a future English teacher, who loves reading and wants students to also love reading, this is disheartening and will definitely be a challenge in the classroom. I wonder, after reading your blog post, if there really is anything to be done about how “we gain answers to our questions.” I definitely don’t believe there is any hope in turning back now–we are way too invested at this point. Even my parents, who are considered “digital immigrants” are committed to this new way of gaining information. As much as I enjoy the benefits of the rise in technology over the last decade, I am definitely fearful of the next generation and their dependency on technology in their daily lives.

  2. Emily, I really enjoyed reading your analysis on the google article. I agree with a lot of what you are saying about our nation being speed obsessed and needing constant stimulation. Your analysis of Carr was also on point because it looks not only at our need for speed but also the loss of true research. The only way I would slightly differ from you thought is that I don’t completely think google is making us stupid. I agree that google is changing the way we obtain knowledge but I am not completely certain that it is for the worse. Quick knowledge allows us to deal with issues quickly therefore adapting better to the world around us.

  3. Emily, I think you make a really good point here. Living in the “information age” we certainly expect everything to be readily available at our fingertips and do not want to put in the time to work or wait for it. Yes, we all will admit that we rely heavily on google. “Don’t know?” “Google it,” we say, using the word as a verb. But is this hurting or helping us? Does the speed at which we gather our information make a difference as long as we obtain what we need? I’m not sure. But I will say that as an English major, I’ve been to the library maybe three times since entering college, but I also don’t believe that my intelligence has suffered because I mostly learn from the internet and not from a big brick building.

Leave a Reply

