Differences with Emotions in Women and men

I think that it is pretty safe to say that everyone agrees that men and women are different by nature. Our trip is made up of 16 unique individuals, but in class discussions, it has been made clear that men and women behave differently. As a huge television and movie fan, it always seems as if the female characters are more in tune with their emotions. If girls have a problem with one another or are feeling a certain way, most of the time, we have no problem expressing our feelings. I definitely know that I can relate to this. When I have a problem with something or if I am upset, I know that I will go ahead and address the issue full on. I’m not the type of person to linger and wait until something comes to a full boil to address it. From the portrayal in media, it often seems that men are not as in touch with their emotions. Men will just let one thing happen and then have it slide by as if nothing happened. Often, it takes the help of a female in tv shows and films to get the male to open up about his feelings and acknowledge that it is okay at times to feel weak and insecure. On that note, I often feel that males with put on a “tough guy” act and not acknowledge how they feel. To a certain extent, boys have been conditioned to feel that way since they were little. If a little boy were to cry in class, his peer’s would make fun of him and call him a girl. This charade almost makes it impossible for boys to feel vulnerable. If they don’t keep up with the male bravado, then they put themselves at risk for being exposed. While I feel that women are more open, that’s certainly not the case all of the time and their are males who are in tune with their feelings and emotions. Sometimes we feel the need to keep our feelings to ourselves, but it’s always good to talk it out and acknowledge our feelings.

2 thoughts on “Differences with Emotions in Women and men

  1. I completely agree with what you are saying in this post, that men and women express their emotions very differently. I also think that this is not necessarily the best thing. I believe that both the way men and women act when it comes to emotions could be changed slightly for the better. Men and women tend to be on two opposite sides of the spectrum of emotions and I think that the middle area would be the best situation for everyone to be in to balance out their emotions. I also believe that there are pros and cons to both the stereotypical “male” and “female” emotional types.

  2. I absolutely love this blog post. I completely agree with everything you have said. Girls definitely work more off of their emotions whereas men put on an act. I also agree with you when you say that some males are in tune with their emotions. Of course, most of the time the difference between males and females are obvious, but there are certainly times that males can be aware of their emotions and act accordingly.

Leave a Reply

