Technology Advances

On the television network at school I was in charge of the technology ‘readers’ this week, aka finding stories on websites about technology and use it for our news show. What I came across what a little startling. The google glass eyewear, something I never really knew about caused a lady to get a ticket for distracted driving. If some of you are unfamiliar these google glasses are pretty much a computer inside of glasses. I will attach a picture so you can check these bad boys out. My point though, is that reading this story made me think, wow, this is what our society is into now. We finally have the capability of pretty much having our cellphones in our eye balls without having to use a handheld device! I just think it’s mind boggling how far we have come in technological advances and that states are looking to outlaw these google glasses while driving. I just think its crazy. Who would think that people could get in trouble for wearing glasses while driving, or people who would want to be online while they drive? Maybe it’s stupidity, I am not completely sure, but I think it is a wonderful wakeup call to what is going on out there in the world. I can’t completely understand the invention of these devices or what they would be like to wear. Would I be able to walk and do it? Would I be distracted? I don’t know but I thought it was something that I should address you guys to! So weird and creepy. I will attach the reader I wrote, along with the article. Weird, so weird.

 

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/30/driving-with-google-glass-ticket-california_n_4177466.html

 

WEARING COMPUTERS ON YOUR GLASSES? IT WAS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THIS NEW PRODUCT WOULD CAUSE ISSUES WHILE DRIVING. THAT WAS THE CASE FOR CALIFORNIA RESIDENT CECILIA ABADIE WHO WAS PULLED OVER WHILE DRIVING IN SAN FRANCISCO. NOT ONLY WAS SHE TICKETED FOR SPEEDING, BUT RECEIVED AN OFFENSE FOR DISTRACTED DRIVING. SO IS THIS ILLEGAL? LAWMAKERS IN DELAWARE AND WEST VIRGINIA HAVE BEGUN INTRODUCING PROPOSALS, AIMING TO BAN MOTORISTS FROM WEARING GOOGLE GLASS WHILE DRIVING. THANKS FOR THE HEADS UP CECILIA.

One thought on “Technology Advances

  1. It’s so funny that you posted about this Erin–we had a guest speaking in one of my communications classes the other day who was talking about almost the same thing! He brought up the glasses in a different context, mentioning that soon we won’t even know when people are paying attention to us when we’re talking to them because they’ll be wearing the internet on their face. Can you imagine? I wonder how people can even concentrate on other things while wearing these glasses when I can’t even read and listen to music at the same time. Further, I wonder what this woman was doing on these glasses while driving. Was she reading, watching a movie, shopping maybe? I can’t imagine anything being so important that it couldn’t wait.

Leave a Reply

